Skip to main content

Exchange Programs

An Exchange Program is a program in which ISU has made an agreement with a host institution abroad to exchange students between the universities without paying additional tuition.

Instead of being assessed tuition abroad, students are assessed an Exchange Fee. This fee covers the cost of student service fees at ISU, while an exchange student from the partner institution will pay student fees abroad. This maintains the exchange partnership and allows students to participate in a study abroad program for a reduced overall cost.

As a result, the overall cost of these programs tend to be lower than many Tuition Fee-Paying programs. View program specific budget information on our Program Budgets page.

While many of our programs do not have a cap on the amount of students that can participate each term, some programs do have a limited amount of spaces available.

Exchange Tuition Waivers

Some programs may offer limited exchange places, but still allow students to attend as fee-paying participants if an exchange spot is not available or requested. Students interested in an exchange spot for one of these programs will need to apply for an Exchange Tuition Waiver.

The Exchange Tuition Waiver Application can be accessed in the My Study Abroad portal as part of the study abroad application process. The waiver application includes submission of a detailed essay; prompts provided.

Exchange Tuition Waivers are not guaranteed and availability varies by semester and for each program.

  • Semester Exchange Programs

    • Denmark: Aarhus School of Marine and Technical Engineering (AAMS)
    • England: University of Surrey *limited spaces
    • France: [COB] ICN Business School
    • Germany: [COB] Universität Paderborn
    • Japan: Kansai Gaidai University *limited spaces
    • Japan: Nanzan University *limited spaces
    • Mexico: [COB] Technologico de Monterrey (ITESM)
    • Netherlands: [COB] Hanze University
    • Scotland: [CJS] Glasgow Caledonian University (GCU)
    • Various: [COB] ESSCA - All Site Locations

    Exchange Tuition Waiver Programs

    • Australia: Griffith University
    • England: Canterbury Christ Church University (CCCU)
    • England: University of Leicester
  • Summer Exchange Programs

    • France France Agro³ - École Supérieure d'Agriculture (ESA)
    • France [COB] ICN Business School
    • Mexico [COB] Technologico de Monterrery (ITESM)
    • Netherlands [COB] Hanze University
    • Various [COB] ESSCA - All Site Locations

[COB] = College of Business majors only
[CJS] = Criminal Justice Sciences majors only